Library Website & Databases: Other useful online resources

Other useful online Resources

State Library Victoria browse and discover a wide range of resources, join online to access:

• thousands of eResources including journals, databases, eBooks, newspapers and music (many of these can be accessed by Victorian residents from home)
• more than five million books, pictures, maps, photographs, letters, manuscripts, comics, newspapers and more within the Library
• personalised options when you use our online search catalogue
• access to meeting rooms and creative technology studios at the Library
• ability to order digital copies and extracts of Library items, including pictures.

Khan Academy  Practice exercises, instructional videos, and learning resources for maths, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.

Internet Archive : Digital Library The Internet Archive, a free not for profit site, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. Students will have to sign in to access full text.

Encyclopedia Britannica Explore the fact-checked online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica including objective articles, biographies, videos, and images.

FUSE Browse and discover resources aligned to the Victorian Curriculum

Northcote Leader Newspaper  this digital edition is an interactive and searchable replica of the newspaper, with an archive from March 2017. 

Research Skills page This NHS guide contains information and links to websites to support research for assignments for NHS students. Use your Compass sign in.  

SBS Resources for students and teachers  The home of free learning resources for students, teachers and the incurably curious.

Students and Copyright  a guide for students.

VCAA   has details on VCE subjects, the curriculum, assessment and past examinations. 

Exam timetables can be found here.

Victorian Department of Education  Gateway to all things educational in Victoria.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely licensed educational media content(images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language.