The John Cain Library is a welcoming school community space that directly supports the school’s teaching and learning programs. It is used extensively by students who come to read, study, play games, socialise and relax. We have developed a high quality collection of young adult and adult fiction and non-fiction, including eBooks; audio books; graphic fiction and foreign language titles; plus access to online research resources.
The library supports the development of students as readers and digitally literate learners by:
Behaviour within the Library
The John Cain Library is a space where all Northcote High students are welcome.
The library opens from 8.15am and closes at 4.00pm, during this time it is a place for students to learn, socialise and hang out.
While using the space it is expected that students are respectful of the space, staff and each other.
Students must be respectful of the space at all times:
To ensure that the library is a safe and welcoming space for all students, when students are not meeting the expected behaviour within the library space a warning and escalation process is in place.
Behaviour not meeting expectations
Behaviour not meeting expectations is any behaviour that is not meeting the rules of respecting the library space:
Students engaged in this behaviour will be given a warning about appropriate behaviour within the library. If the behaviour continues the student will be asked to leave the library for the day.
First Warning (not meeting expectations)
If library staff or a teacher notice a student’s behaviour is not meeting expectations in the library they will be asked to stop.
Second Warning (leave the library for period of time or the day)
If the behaviour that is not meeting expectations continues, the student will be asked to leave the library for that period of time e.g., Recess or Lunch period or for the day.
If a student is asked to leave the library for the day, a teacher will ask for the student’s name and all interactions will be documented either via Chronicle on Compass or email to the student’s Year Level Program Leader.
New day fresh start
If a student has been asked to leave the day before and they wish to use the library the next day that is fine, no penalty from the previous day’s behaviour will be applied. However, if the student’s behaviour continues to not meet expectations their behaviour will be escalated to their Year Level Program Leader and a period of time excluded from the library will be implemented. The length of time excluded from the library will depend on the behaviour.
Behaviours of concern/ Challenging behaviour
Behaviours of concern are ones that can cause physical harm to the person or any other person.
Challenging behaviour (in a school context) is understood to mean behaviour that either interferes with the safety or learning of the student or other students, or interferes with the safety of school staff.
These types of behaviour are considered unacceptable or inappropriate, students will not be given a warning they will be asked to leave the library for the day. This behaviour will also be escalated to the student’s Year Level Program Leader or deputy principal and may include a period of exclusion from the library.
Escalation Process
If a student continues with behaviour that is not meeting expectations, their behaviour will be escalated to the Year Level Program Leader and a period of time excluded from the library will be implemented. The length of time excluded from the library will depend on the behaviour.
Any behaviour considered unacceptable or inappropriate will be escalated to the Year Level Program Leader and a period of time excluded from the library will be implemented. The length of time excluded from the library will depend on the behaviour.
Exclusion from the Library
Exclusion from the library is only used as a last resort, the library is an inclusive space for all students, exclusion will only be used for unacceptable or inappropriate behaviour or ongoing behaviour that is not meeting expectations.
Exclusion from the library will be determined by student’s Year Level Program Leader or deputy principal in consultation with library staff..
Borrowing
Students can borrow up to 10 books for two weeks. Items on loan can be renewed once either at the library desk or online by signing into the Library webpage using your Compass username and password. Students can also place their own reservations and check their reading history.
Library Website
To access the John Cain Library website, use the link in the Compass favourites.
The website will give you access to the library catalogue, eBooks and Audiobooks, Journals, Research Guides, Clickview, online newspapers and links to a range of different databases.
Services
Photocopiers and printers can be accessed from student’s iPads, laptops and networked computers, see the instructions on MyNorthcoteHigh under Laptop and iPad Support/Printing and Internet Access
All students are allocated printing credits at the start of the year, through their Compass username and PIN. Please ask library staff if you require assistance.
Collections
The library has an excellent fiction collection (print, eBooks and Audiobooks) catering mainly to teenagers and young adults. Library staff encourage students to recommend new titles and authors. Our non-fiction collection covers mostly curriculum areas as well as some recreational reading. We also have a biography collection, graphic fiction (manga), magazines, and streamed ClickView programs.
Our language print collections include Chinese, Italian, French and Greek books.
eBooks and Audiobooks
To access the library’s collection of eBooks and audiobooks download the Wheelers App to your phone or device.
Sign in with your credentials:
Username: your NHS email
Password: your Compass password
Clickview Streamed Programs
ClickView is a film and documentary streaming platform designed to support teaching and learning in the classroom. NHS student can view all ClickView programs at school without using any of their data allowance.
NHS staff and students sign in via Compass
Username: Your NHS email Password: Compass password
Databases
The library has a range of Databases and Digital Resources for students to use, these resources are an excellent place to start researching for your school assignments. Follow the links on the library website for films and documentaries, study and research articles, magazine and newspaper articles and much more
Sustainability Collection
The libraries sustainability collection is built around the United Nations Sustainability goals and student activism via the Green Team.
Student Assistant Program
We run a student assistant program training students to help in the library during recess, lunchtimes and after school. Students Assistants also meet each term with library staff as part of our student advisory team. Please see library staff if you would like to join the Library Student Assistant Program.
Library Book Club
All students are welcome to join our thriving Book Club run every Wednesday at lunch time in L4. Bring your lunch and join the student led conversations about books and all things about literature.